Houdini On The Go!

Hope, 5 MonthsThis morning I woke up to a missing baby.

Though I admittedly must have been quite tired during the night when I got up to feed her, I was sure I remembered putting her back in her clothing and back into her crib … However, the morning’s view of the crip had me second guessing myself and my tired brain with some confusion.

Oddly enough, her eskimo suit was lying perfectly in the middle of the crib (where Hope should have been). What I found even more odd was that it was all snapped closed, and her pajamas were layered inside the eskimo suit too. These also were snapped closed. The baby, however, that should have been inside the pajamas, inside the eskimo suit, was most certainly NOT there.

I checked her swing in the living room … no baby.
I checked our bed – thinking that perhaps Richard had picked her up as I slept … no baby.

More and more confused by the moment, I decided to wake Richard up for help locating Hope (and my brain – which had obviously left me). On my way by the crib again, I noticed a foot sticking out from under the pile of laundry. . . and attached to that foot was a naked little happily sleeping baby!

The night before I had washed a load of Hope’s clothes and blankets, and as they came out of the dryer late I put them in one end of her crib to fold the next day. Apparently the little Houdini managed to scoot right out of her pajamas, right out of her eskimo suit, and across the crib to bury herself under the pile of laundry!

Hope, 5 Months Hope, 5 Months
( Click on any photo to view image full-size! )

Hope’s current preferred means of locomotion involves “scooting” on her heels and the top of her head, with her back arched, body completly off the ground, while using her arms to either side for balance. While it may sound odd, it really is quite interesting to watch! Although we have discussed the option of creating her a little teflon hat, hopefully she’ll move on to an alternative means of moving around before she wears herself a bald spot on the top of her head!

One Response to “Houdini On The Go!”

  1. jessenmacher Says:

    How cute 🙂 Thanks for all the new posts! So fun to see pictures and read about the new things she’s doing. Only 3 1/2ish more months and I’ll get to see her!


Leave a Reply

