Caffeine & Rumble-Strips

Hope, 11 weeks oldFor the most part, I am not very big on caffeine. Now that Hope is here though, I don’t drink any caffeine at all. If I do, she has a really bad, irritable, and upset time for the next day or two, so I simply avoid it completely now.

Never really missed it much … until we left for our 10 hour drive to Dallas Texas for the dog show this past weekend. Despite efforts to get things packed and ready early thru the week, we ended up running into late Thursday evening trying to get loaded up and ready to leave. We planned to get up to leave at midnight (after heading to bed early and getting a good couple hours sleep first), but in reality didn’t ended up finished packing until after 10PM. For some reason, rather than taking a short nap before heading out, it sounded like a good idea to just leave early and have a couple extra hours to nap the next afternoon when we arrived early. Oh how you see things differently looking back!

Hope, 11 weeks oldWe started out driving, and not even an hour into the trip I was already done. Richard switched me and he drove, but I felt bad for him as he was tired too. So after an hour of trying to nap I offered to trade him again so he could rest. This time his break lasted barely long enough for him to close his eyes – within 15 minutes I was hitting the rumble strips and had to switch him back again. Unfortunately (for Richard) the rest of the trip was mostly the same. Try as I would (and did – repeatedly), I could not manage to stay awake and drive for more than 15 minutes at a time. Finally in frustration I suggested that he park for an hour and take a nap himself. That worked great till Hope woke up 15 minutes into his nap and started fussing…

Hope, 11 weeks oldWe did finally make it to Dallas around 2:00 the following day. Sure was a long hard trip though. I never realized how much help a little caffeine is to stay awake on those drives. I guess rumble strips must have been developed as an alternative for nursing moms who can’t drink caffeine!

One Response to “Caffeine & Rumble-Strips”

  1. Joanna Says:

    Haha. Thank God for rumble-strips! Next time you should try vitamin C packets… They are supposed to help give you a boost. 🙂 Maybe it would help anyway. lol

    I LOVE being able to see Hope grow. Its so amazing to see her change every time I see her. Love you guys!


Leave a Reply

